Blending In

As we’ve been getting settled into Bath, I’m feeling more and more comfortable here. Yesterday we toured the university’s library, and today Rachel and I went to the post office and signed up for library cards at the Bath Central Library. Sounds boring, but doing normal errands makes this feel like home. I pretty much know my way around town, but when I’m a little lost, I can quickly find my way home. We found a grocery store (Sainbury’s) that’s much cheaper than the one we’ve been going to (Waitrose) and made the greatest discovery since coming to Bath: Poundland. It’s the English equivalent to Dollar General and it’s a poor college kid’s dream. We’ve found a ton of good places to eat, and seem to have gone to all the most popular spots in town. It’s strange to constantly stand out; even though we’re starting to fit in and look less like tourists, our looks and accents give us way completely. People are always noticing us, which is sometimes good and sometimes not so good. It does, though, start lots of conversations .It’s so funny/strange to our group when people say, “I’ve always wanted to go to the States!”  Most people don’t even know where Tennessee is, but those who do usually associate with Jack Daniels and bad country music, which is a shame. One person actually knew who the Titans were, which was really surprising to me.

Today, Rachel and I decided to shop shop shop. Although we didn’t buy much, I loved every second of studying British style. I’m beginning to recognize who’s British and who’s not just by seeing what he/she is wearing. For girls my age, the style seems to be a messy chic combination that usually adds up to high-waisted leggings, a crop top, and sneakers. Outfits are either super colorful or all black. It’s very interesting (at least to me) to see what stores have dressed mannequins in, or see which styles show up in every store. While shopping, I noticed:

  • Cash drawers don’t pop out of the register, instead, the top of the box opens
  • ATMs are called cash points
  • When you check-out, the desk is called a “cash desk”
  • Trousers=pants, jumper=sweater
  • American flag designs are very popular on clothing
  • American cities (LA, New York, etc) seem to be written somewhere on all fashion t-shirts

Hopefully, tomorrow will provide some more interesting material to write about! But for now, goodnight!

3 thoughts on “Blending In

  1. Hey Dear,
    Yesterday I spoke to a ladies’ group in Merced. The person I sat next to at the table was British, so I told her you were in Bath. She was a WWII bride who met and married her Air Force husband. We talked a lot about the cultural differences between the UK and the US. Viva la difference! Whoops. That’s France. ILY
    GD

Leave a Reply

