Time Traveling

Each Wednesday, all 24 of us take day trips to surrounding cities to see some of the major sites in our area. Our tour guide today was a man named Tony, who’s lived in Bath since he was 6 years old. The amount of knowledge he had was amazing. Even though we were pretty much all asleep on the bus ride, every time I woke up he was talking. There is so much history in Bath, and it was amazing to listen to everything Tony knew. Today the entire group went back to prehistoric times and got to see something I’ve always wanted to: Stonehenge! Some people saw the monument as just a bunch of rocks in a field, but I’ve always been intrigued by how the prehistoric people got those giant rocks in those exact position. The most exciting part of Stonehenge was probably when Mary Kate, lost a bet and had to jump over the ropes and touch the stones. There were sprinklers going, so she slipped and fell during the process, but no one did anything! The reaction from the people surrounding us was absolute silence. Evan and I were busting out laughing and taking pictures, but no one else even moved. I still can’t believe she did it, but that’s why I love her.

 

We left Stonehenge to visit the town of Salisbury. First, we went to the Old Sarum Cathedral, the former site of the Salisbury Cathedral. It’s in ruins now, but you could still see where the buildings used to be and had a great view of Salisbury. When we went into the town, we went inside the cathedral. The inside of the cathedral was absolutely stunning. The architecture that we see daily…I can’t even describe it. And I definitely can’t imagine worshipping in a place so beautiful. There was intricate stain glass windows, tombs inside the walls and covering the floors, and ceilings you can’t even fathom. Everywhere you looked, there was something new to notice. It didn’t compare to the beauty of Westminster, but it was still pretty magnificent. Salisbury Cathedral is also home to the Magna Carta, and it was inside of the “Chapter House,” my favorite room. Along the ceiling was a frieze illustrating the books of Genesis and Exodus. I stood in awe of that for a long time. It’s amazing that people actually build things like this, and getting to see them in real life is surreal. I’ve seen Stonehenge in every textbook since I can remember, and pictures of cathedrals and abbeys have never seemed real to me. The fact that people make the effort and time to build these things is amazing.

We had a group devotional tonight, which Vicki led. I feel so blessed to have she and Dr. Gaw with us; they are such a sweet couple and open their home and hearts to all of us. She had us meditate on Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” For me, this truly applies to being in a new, unfamiliar place. I’m starting to see God everywhere and in everyone.

Leave a Reply

