The City I Love

After almost two weeks away from Bath, I’d forgotten how much I loved this city and how lucky I am to call it home. Taking shortcuts feels like a secret only locals know, walking on the left side of the street feels natural, and I’m actually enjoying the cold weather. When we got home on Sunday, all the employees at our apartments were excited to see us and hear about our “jet-setting adventures,” as they would say. I have come to love all the managers here, they are so helpful and understanding. We have our favorite places in town that we eat at, mostly a Chinese place and a pub, both next door to our apartments. The first thing I wanted when we got home was to get some Chinese takeaway. Takeaway! A word that the English actually do use, not just in movies. Some others I’ve noticed:

  • rubbish, brilliant
  • quite (an excessive use of quite)
  • till, when speaking about cash registers
  • notes instead of bills, when speaking about money
  • queue, instead of waiting in line, you “queue up”

Our entire group got together last night for our monthly birthday celebration, and it’s been so good to see everyone again. God brought us all home safe and sound, with memories that we’ll have forever. All glory be to Him, for creating this beautiful earth for us to explore and for keeping us safe. I’ve been doing Bible homework all day, and rediscovered some verses that I found years ago and fell in love with. From Job 1:21, “The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” From Job 42:2, “I know that You can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.” I never expected this semester; it was such a spontaneous decision. I never planned on living miles and miles away from home. I’m here because it’s God’s will, and I’m here to seek Him. Seeing His creation has been absolutely mind-blowing.

Some of my favorite pictures from fall break:

 














One thought on “The City I Love

  1. Jenna, thank you for the update! I LOVE reading your blog! You are precious and I am so thankful that Savannah is living with you and has your friendship! Thanks for making her birthday special! Love you! Kelly

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

